13.A.6 Stacking between neutral countries
It can sometimes occur, especially due to certain events, that countries neutral towards each other (neither enemies or allies) find themselves inside the same province. In such a case they do not affect the stacking limit of each other in any way. Stacking only affects allies and their enemies.
30.2 F. Revolt supply
Friendly revolts can be used as supply sources, but only as long as
there are no enemy units present at the moment the supply status is determined.
50. 16 TRUCE
A truce can be made by mutual accord between enemy coalitions when neither side wants to continue the war, nor to make a peace. In the case of minors, it can be suggested in the same way as a white peace. Separate truces can be made in the same way as separate peace. Former allies can receive CB for separate truces.
The effects of a truce are as follows:
A/; Both sides retain the territory they have conquered and all military
units are withdrawn from all the other areas as per normal rules for peace.
Thus sieges cannot be maintained. No income is received from enemy occupied
territories during a truce.
B/; If a truce is made in a civil war, all revolts stay as they are and cannot spread or be suppressed. However, the player looses only the income of territories controlled by rebel units, not those in which there are inactive revolts.
C/; As long as a truce continues all minors and rebels involved in it are treated as neutrals in terms of VP gains and status of activity although their units remain where they are. However, coalition minors must remain in the control of their current controller.
The truce lasts until either side chooses to terminate it during any player round of any movement phase. Non-aligned minors do not break a truce unless otherwise described in event description, or unless their controller declares war on their enemy, in which case they immediately break the truce. In principle a truce can last for the duration of the game. Players do not loose stability for wars that are under a truce for a whole single turn from the negotiations phase until the peace phase. Nor does the cumulative stability loss for prolonged wars increase during that time.
50. 17. MULTIPLE WAR DECLARATIONS
It is always possible to declare war for a second time against the same enemy even if no peace has been made between the two parties. The second declaration of war has normal cost in stability and VPs but no other practical effects (save such effects that might be caused due to it triggering an event). Allies can be called normally for a second declaration of war.
Hungary can be definitively removed from the game either by event 6:I or by military collapse.
A. Hungarian military conquest
During the first two periods Hungary can be annexed to Turkey if Turkish (not allied) units achieve either of the following circumstances:
A major victory over Hungarian A+/- or its complete elimination in battle.
Conquest of BUDA at the end of a turn.
A.1 At the peace phase of the turn in which either of the above conditions are achieved Hungary offers to surrender unconditionally to Turkey and cede Hungarian BANAT, PECS, CROATIA and MAGYAR to Turkey and Hungarian CARPATHIA to Habsburgs.
A.2 If any Hungarian territory remains it constitutes a new minor Transylvania which uses the Hungarian markers (including named leaders) and statistics, but with following modifications:
A;\ Its basic force is reduced to two land detachments.
B;\ It can be vasallised with a rating of 5 and annexed with a rating of 10.
C;\ The capital of the new minor is Klausenburg, or failing that, any fortress chosen by the previous controller of Hungary.
A.2.1 Hungary/Transylvania is originally placed in VA of Turkey.
A.2.2 Bohemia is annexed to Habsburgs and removed from play. If Bohemia is currently at war, it offers an immediate white peace to all its enemies. If this white peace is not accepted, the aggressor must immediately declare a war to Habsburgs benefiting from a temporary CB.
A.3 Turkey receives VPs normally for gaining the Hungarian provinces. No VPs are given to the controller of the Habsburgs for CARPATHIA.
The rule allowing Austria in certain circumstances to annex Turkish ex-Hungarian provinces is permanently cancelled. Furthermore, Hungarian basic forces or counters are not included to Habsburg basic forces and counters until Habsburgs own PECS and MAGYAR and Transylvania has ceased to exist.
NECESSARY MODIFICATIONS TO THE ANNEXES:
Habsburgs SILESIA and MORAVIA are Bohemian at the start of the game.
Habsburg basic forces are those noted in the Austrian player sheet and not those noted in annexes.
Bohemian basic force is increased to two land D.
Bohemia is not incorporated to the Habsburgs automatically at the beginning of period III (1560).
Hansiatic MEMEL and OST PREUSSEN belong to the Teutonic Order at the start of the game.
NECESSARY MODIFICATIONS AND CLARIFICATIONS TO THE SCENARIOS:
While a non-player country, new Dutch commercial fleet counters can be placed only in such STZ/CTZ areas which had Dutch commercial fleet counters already at the beginning of the game. This restriction is lifted if there are not eligible places to build new levels left. New fleet levels can be placed in the Mediterranean only when the Dutch player receives three levels in the same turn. In that case one level (only) must be so placed.
Spanish rule of endogamy is cancelled and never applied during the game.
(These variants are designed to be used together with the events rewrite, but are not a necessary precondition to their use. Note that they affect the original dispositions of the game as described in the Scenarios.)
Variant I: KINGDOM OF NAPLES
The following additions overrule normal scenario description at game
1. Minor state Naples exists (with NAPOLI as capital province) at the beginning of the game as defined in rule 7.2.B of the extension rules, but consisting of only two provinces: NAPOLI and POUILLES. Naples is placed in VA of SPA and cannot be removed unless one of the two following conditions occur:
a. SPA declares war on Naples.
b. Naples suffers an unconditional surrender against an enemy.
If either of these conditions occur during the game, Naples becomes a normal
minor without any special link to SPA. It can become a normal minor state
also as per rule 7.2.B of the Extension set I.
2. Napoli is the capital of Naples. It is not, however, a red city and thus it can be annexed although a capital. If this happens, Naples is removed from play and all its remaining provinces are automatically annexed by SPA (whether it annexed NAPOLI or not).
THE FIRST ITALIAN WAR EVENT
1. When the first War of Italy event occurs, and if there is Neapolitanian NAPOLI, apply the following conditions:
a. If FRA declines the event, Naples continues as before.
b. SPA cannot decline the event itself, but it may openly decline to intervene on behalf of its vassal Naples during a negotiations step before a war is declared due to this event (this causes no stability loss for SPA). In this case, Naples becomes immediately neutral and remains a normal minor state for the rest of the game. The CB provided to FRA by this event can then only be used against minor Naples and not SPA.
2. If neither a or b above occurs and war is declared by FRA due to this event apply the following conditions:
a. No units of SPA or its allies (save Naples itself) can enter Neapolitan territory until enemy units have actually invaded it (these enemy units do not necessarily have to be connected to this event). Nor can Neapolitan units be stacked with allied units before this occurs unless these allied units belong to other Italian minors.
3. Note that unless conquered by FRA and allies, Naples can continue the game as a vassal of SPA after this event is over.
Variant II: THE BURGUNDIAN INHERITANCE
The following additions overrule normal scenario description at game
1. Minor state Burgundy exists at the start of the game composing of the provinces FRIESEN, DEN HAAG, HOLLAND, ZEELAND, BRABANT, GUELDRE, FLANDRE, HAINAUT, NORD, ARTOIS, LUXEMBURG and FRANCHE COMTE.
2. Burgundy is a special vassal of both SPA and the Habsburgs. A declaration of war against it leads automatically to a war against both of these powers (the Spanish player can decline to involve SPA in such a war, but not the Habsburgs). However, Burgundy itself can never be called to declare war under whatever reason.
3. All Burgundian income, including provincial income, the Atlantic Trade Centre (but not the income from the Dutch commercial fleet to which this is tied to) and the Spanish manufacture in FLANDRE are permanently counted as being part of the Spanish income.
4. Burgundy does not have an army of its own. However, if war is declared against it, the Habsburgs minor can place its military units and build fortress levels inside Burgundian territory as if it belonged to the Habsburgs. After peace is made all such units are removed, but the fortress levels remain and can later be converted to Spanish fortress counters.
When the first Spanish monarch dies, all provinces belonging to Burgundy are immediately annexed by SPA (bringing the normal amount of VPs) and the minor is permanently removed from game.
SPA, HOL etc.: Refers to countries currently controlled by a player
”America”: Refers to continents in ROTW map
Austria; refers to Habsburgs after its disassociation with SPA and becoming a normal minor.
Habsburgs; refers to Habsburgs minor as being associated with SPA by a special rule.
HESSEN: Refers to a province with that name
Hessen: Refers to a minor with that name
"Russian UKRAINE" etc.: Refers to the ownership of a province
”English Scotland” etc.: Refers to the control of a minor
Aggressor: The side that declares war.
Coalition ally: An ally involved in the same war as the player/minor in question. In case of minors it refers only to controllers themselves, not to their possible other player coalition allies
Control: Political control of a minor through alliance (including a royal marriage)
Conquer: Military conquest of a fortress in a province
Defender: The side to which war is declared
Enforced unconditional surrender: A 5th level peace caused by military conquest
ES1: Extension set I
Friendly active minors: Provides both access and supply
Friendly inactive minors: Provides access, but not supply
Inactive: not engaged in any way in any current wars
Invade: movement of military land units (armies or detachments) inside territory owned (not merely conquered) by an enemy power.
Marker: Any playing piece in use (including units) except control flag
Occupy: Military presence in a province, not necessarily conquered
Own: Political ownership of a province
ROTW: Rest-of-the-World map
Temporary: Lasts one turn only
Unit: Any counter that is allowed to move, army, fleet, detachment, missionary, privateer or leader
VP: Victory points
(*): An event can occur several times (if numbered, then that many times)